A Few Good Follicles

Yesterday I headed back to the RE’s office to check the progression of my follicles for the first time this cycle.  Having undressed and gotten positioned on the table for the ultrasound, I wondered if there would be anything worth seeing.  On my injection medication cycles, for the most part, the largest follicles I’ve had on the first check have been around 10 to 12 mm necessitating a good deal of further medication and more monitoring.

So I was pleasantly surprised when the ultrasound tech started scanning and a large dark area appeared on the image of my ovary.  “Whoa,” I said, “Look at that!”

“You didn’t start with any cysts this cycle, right?” The tech inquired, then checked the record.  “Nope, no cysts.  That’s a good looking follicle!”

The ultrasound tech measured the follicle.  It was around 15 mm.  There were a few other 9 and 10 mm follicles there, but the 15 mm one was clearly the dominant follicle.  She scanned over to the other ovary.  And there it was: another clearly dominant follicle, measuring about 14 mm.  Again, a few other smaller follicles, but the 14 mm was definitely leading the pack by a good margin.

“This is the best I’ve seen on your ovaries,” she remarked, smiling.

I was excited too.  In all my medicated cycles, I’ve either had nothing to write home about or in one memorable instance, too many developing follicles.  This represented the first time I’ve had anything promising at all.  The only worry was whether or not a couple of those 10 mm follicles would try to take off.

Practically skipping, I headed into the next room to get my blood drawn.  That’s where things took an unexpected turn.  The nurse drew my blood uneventfully.  “Dr. D is out again today,” she remarked, “so one of the other REs in the practice is looking at his patients’ scans and labs.”

“What?!”  I stared at her.  My last cycle had been cancelled by one of the other REs because Dr. D was out and the other RE had made a call based on a number of legitimate things, but it had upset me nonetheless.  I’d found out when I consulted with Dr. D the next week that he would not have cancelled the cycle.  While Dr. D had done a wonderful thing by essentially making this cycle free of clinic fees because of his compassion for my upset, I still felt a little nervous about the whole thing.  When we’d talked during the consult, I had been under the impression that Dr. D would supervise that next cycle.

I left the clinic in a daze.  I did a few errands in town, and then decided that I needed to address the whole thing further.  Since I still hadn’t headed home and was only about five minutes away from the clinic, I drove back.

“I’m not okay with this,” I told the nurse when she asked me what was going on.  “The last time someone else looked at my scans I wound up with a cancelled cycle where Dr. D would have made a different call.  I didn’t know Dr. D was leaving again or I wouldn’t have started a new cycle.  It’s too much stress.  I’m worried about someone else looking at my chart since my ovaries are so problematic and finicky and winding up with a cancelled cycle again.”

Of course, by now the tears were starting to flow.  The nurses took me back to a room and got me sitting down.  For the record, the nurses were awesome.  I know that I was a bit upset after my first cycle, but yesterday, I couldn’t have asked for more wonderful people.  They both just listened to me and were really, really nice and caring about it.  They helped me by making sure I knew which one of Dr. D’s partners would read the scans and that I was comfortable with the individual doing so.    They also promised that they would make sure this other RE was very, very aware of my history so that he would understand the background issues.

I felt a lot better after that.

Once the nurses called me back with results, the news continued to be good.  My E2 was where they wanted it based on the way the follicles look right now.  I have another check soon, and then…we’ll see.

2 thoughts on “A Few Good Follicles

  1. It’s great for the size of the follicules! How long after your first injection do they control your ovaries? Here it’s after 3 days of stim, around D5 in my cycle.
    And that’s great that the nurses understood your concern. You were right to go back. Hope it develops well for you 😉

  2. Thanks! I hope it keeps developing too. They usually control my ovaries for 7 days (because of the femara/follistim protocol I’m using) then check and re-check until either I have the right numbers or the numbers have gone so wrong that the cycle gets cancelled.

Leave a Reply

