PUPO

First of all: a huge, huge thank you to the many of you who left words of encouragement…I truly cannot say how much I appreciate it.

It’s official: I am PUPO (pregnant until proven otherwise).

Arthur and I had been warned that we wouldn’t get much notice over whether the transfer would take place on Thursday or on Saturday morning.  We knew we’d be half-way to the clinic on Thursday before they’d call us, since we had such a long drive.  We waited, both of us nervous, on the all important phone call as Arthur navigated the rain-soaked highway.

The call finally came about midway to keep on coming.  We were transferring day 3, Thursday.  Our RE, Dr. D, felt that two of the embryos had pulled into the lead and that he wanted to go ahead and transfer those.  However, he liked the way two of the others looked as well even though they were slightly behind the best pair, so those two would be frozen.  The final one had failed to divide properly.

When we got to the RE’s office, we said a prayer, nervously put on the special socks chosen for the occasion and headed in.  We were taken straight back to the ART suite.  I changed into my gown and Arthur put on his garb as well.  The nurse brought in a cup of water and had me take my Valium. 

Of course, because my bladder had to be very full for transfer, I was squirming and trying to think non-water related thoughts.  Finally, feeling downright awful, I begged the nurses to let me do something.  The nurses took pity on me and told me if I had the willpower to only fill up a cup they handed me, I could get a little bit of relief.  While of course, I still felt pretty uncomfortable after that, it made all the difference in the world.

Dr. D arrived, and the nurse took us back to the transfer room.  As the lab was getting the embryos ready, we all talked for a few minutes.  We’ve been very fortunate with our RE, as Dr. D has been wonderful through this process.  Everyone liked our matching socks:

Image

The socks have capes and everything!  Saw these and just had to have them for transfer day.

Then Dr. D handed us the photo of our two embryos.  Even though I’ve been trying so hard not to get attached to the whole process, it didn’t matter at that moment.  They’re beautiful to me.  It was tangible proof that something was there, being transferred.

The nurse put the ultrasound gel on my abdomen and Dr. D got everything in place as the picture began to come up on the screen.  “Wow,” he commented “your bladder is really full!”  Being the overachiever that I am, I’d overfilled my bladder just a bit.  In this case, however, that turned out to be a good thing.  My uterus, normally tipped severely to the left, was much straighter than usual thanks to my extremely full bladder.  The lab handed Dr. D the catheter with the embryos.  A little flash of light on the ultrasound, and they were in.  I squeezed Arthur’s hand.

And that was it: the culmination of the injections, appointments, and worries.  I got to rest for a little while, then the nurses wheeled me out to the car, and we headed home.  There’s a part of me that can’t believe it’s actually happened, that there are real embryos residing in my body.  I’ve been resting for the last 48 hours, mostly watching movies.  Now all there is left to do is wait. 

27 thoughts on “PUPO

  1. Just stopping by. I love the socks! Huzzy and I have our socks all picked out for our ER later this month. Good luck!!

  2. Congratulations on the transfer. Keep your mind focused on the positive. You’ll have what you desire before you know it. I’ll be praying for you. BTW, the socks are adorable.

Leave a Reply

