Living Life

“We need to get out of this apartment,” Arthur remarked a couple of weeks ago.

We were discussing what to do for our ninth wedding anniversary. It was a somewhat tricky proposition for a couple of reasons, mostly because with heading into another IVF cycle, we’re trying to save most of our available cash, and I’ve had a bad case of the blahs. The blahs are what punctuate the days of straight up feeling sad, depressed, and generally crappy where I’m not actively sad, but just have no energy. This does not lead to a high motivation level even when trying to plan ostensibly fun activities.

Also, in one of those *lovely* moments that are part and parcel with adult life, both cars needed new brakes within two weeks of each other.

The thing was that Arthur was right. We – I – did need to get out of the apartment for a reason other than work or visiting the mechanic. So we started trying to plan. We immediately discounted our usual dinner-and-a-movie over in the city I work in. Neither of us felt like going there, it was too deeply associated with cycles and visiting the RE. Same for heading south to one of the larger cities, plus it was too far to really travel comfortably in one afternoon/evening.

“Well,” I finally said, “there are some vineyards just over an hour north of us that I know we’ve always wanted to go see. Want to go check it out and then get dinner up there?”

It was a lovely afternoon. I actually managed to put together an outfit and apply make-up. We had – complete shocker – a nice, non-infertility related conversation in the car on the way up. We spent most of the afternoon touring, learning about the wine making process, sitting out in the sun, listening to live music, and then had dinner at one of the larger vineyards.

DSC01215

DSC01216 Grapes growing on the vines

The next weekend, we had plans as well. On Friday, we went to hear a local orchestra play a pops concert with Arthur’s family. We sat out under the darkening sky, watching the sun set and listening to the 1812 Overture, drinking chocolate milkshakes. It was warm enough to be comfortable, cool enough not to be hot, and a pretty sky as it darkened and fireworks exploded overhead.

On Saturday, one of Arthur’s sisters had proposed a Lord of the Rings movie marathon where we would watch the extended editions consecutively and eat like hobbits. The meal plan would follow the movie version of hobbit mealtimes: breakfast, second breakfast, elevensies, luncheon, afternoon tea, dinner, and supper. All of us thought this sounded like a splendid idea.

The secret to managing this kind of schedule is that each meal is relatively small. My sister-in-law did a marvelous job putting together the whole thing, and with each person bringing one or two items, it was a pretty simple and fun way to spend a day together.

first breakfastFirst breakfast…I made the lavender and lemon muffins

Elevensies

Elevenses

This past weekend, Arthur and I went to a restaurant I’ve been dying to try. We sat in the park, listening to live music and enjoying tasting some local beverages as part of a benefit for a new water area to the park. We browsed a couple of shops and I found a new sign to add to my collection (if you’re curious about my other two, I’ve written about them here and here).

DSC01218

It just cracks me up. And it’s so true – I know I’ve been guilty of it at times.

Finally, we went to a performance of Beethoven’s 9th Symphony, which was magnificent. Sitting there, listening to the music, I found myself, for the first time in quite a while, entirely content for a few moments.  My life – with or without children – is something I don’t want to miss out on.

 

3 thoughts on “Living Life

Leave a Reply

