Microblog Mondays: Feeling like a Grown-Up

Microblog_Mondays

There are a number of rites of passage in American culture that people tend to use to signify the onset of adulthood: driver’s license, voting, graduating from high school, reaching the legal drinking age, or graduating from college, just to name a few.

I have a few slightly different ones.  Each one, however, represented a sense of “aha!” where suddenly felt like I could manage adult life and had moved forward in some indefinable way.

– Figuring out how to put together my first dinner for people other than family.

– Filling out my own FAFSA for the first time.

– Managing to do the taxes.

– Dealing with spiders on my own.

– Learning to argue with my health insurance company.

What are yours?

Curious about Microblog Mondays?  To read the others or submit your own, please go to Stirrup Queens and check it out!

16 thoughts on “Microblog Mondays: Feeling like a Grown-Up

    • I completely hear you on that one – I’m generally introverted, and as I’ve gotten older, I’ve valued a certain amount of privacy more and not sharing close quarters with others…

  1. I was going to say something similar to Persnickety!!! Mine is the fact that I don’t love camping anymore. I prefer to sleep in a bed. With a pillow. 🙂

  2. Really weird one: I knew I had become an adult the first time I drove by a high school and looked at the clothes the kids were wearing and thought “What the hell?!” instead of “Cool, where can I buy that?”

    I have since had similar epiphanies with regard to popular music, TV shows and movies. I just don’t “get” the things that are “cool.”

  3. The first time I ever felt like an adult (and was scared shitless to be an adult) was buying groceries for the first time in graduate school. Paying for all of those first-trip-of-the-year groceries.

    • The stocking-up-the-cupboards trip is truly a rite of passage. Who knew how much flour, sugar, etc, could cost?!

      I’d have to get back to the store the first time I tried to cook after that trip because I’d have forgotten something my mother’s kitchen always had on hand that I hadn’t even thought of…

  4. Good question! For me, it was doing house projects on my first home…painting every room in the house, remodeling the kitchen and installing a brick walk with flower beds. I kept picturing Steve Martin in Father of the Bride…I laid these bricks with my own two hands.

Leave a Reply

