The Enemy of Finished

When I was in college, I had a piece of paper taped to the top of my computer monitor that read: “Perfection is an admirable goal, but it is the enemy of finished.” I’ve found, in the years since graduating college, that this is good advice for life, not just term papers.

One of the items on my checklist if I ever managed to get and stay pregnant was high quality professional photography. Starting with maternity photos near one of the nearby lakes in springtime, then we’d transition to adorable, sleepy newborn photos and wind up with lively “happy first birthday” photos. There was (and still is) a good chance we’re only going to get to do this once, and I planned to make the most of it. These photos were going to be gorgeous and pinterest-worthy.

Once my water broke at 21 weeks, maternity photos were out. I couldn’t stand for long periods without gushing amniotic fluid, and I was trying to keep E’s head from exerting pressure on my cervix to stall labor as long as possible. I have one photo of me noticeably pregnant, taken about 40 minutes before my c-section when I did something I’d been longing to do for weeks and took a short stroll around the maternity unit. Arthur stands beside me in scrubs and I look puffy, wearing a very fashionable hospital gown and non-skid socks. It’s precious to me because of what it represents, but it’s not quite what I had in mind originally.

Then, of course, E was in the NICU for eight weeks, then out for four days, then back in for another eleven day stay. She was covered in oxygen and monitor cords. She got cold easily, so undressing her and doing those cute, sleepy photos wasn’t an option. I have quite a lot of photos of her in NICU, but none of them are professional for obvious reasons.

Once E got out, we scheduled with a professional photographer who had extremely reasonable prices because she was still building her portfolio. The appointed day of our (outdoor) shoot, it rained. We had to reschedule. Arthur and I wound up having a conflict with the second appointment. The photographer had to cancel the third due to a family emergency. After that point, we realized it wasn’t going to work. I had a couple of cute outfits and a family cradle I really wanted photos of E in, and she was outgrowing them. It was already July. We asked Arthur’s dad – who is decent with a camera – to take a few shots.

We cleaned ourselves up, I put on make-up and a skirt, and we schlepped ourselves and all of E’s outfits about an hour to do the shoot. To make a long story short, it turned out that Arthur’s dad, who had been photographing some of the flowers at the park before we arrived, forgot to adjust the settings on the camera. All of the photos took on a distinct blue-green tint as the color saturation was way off. Even after playing around with editing for some time, I couldn’t get the color quite right. I get along well with my in-laws, but even when people get along well in any family there are going to be moments where we are less than happy with one another. This was one of those moments. I reminded myself that  as upset as I was this was not worth serious drama, took a deep breath and counted to ten.

Thanks to a long time spent on bed rest, the short duration of my pregnancy, and Arthur losing his job for several months in the middle (and of course, IVF), I knew we didn’t have the money to do the gorgeous, outdoor, artsy photo shoot I’d envisioned at that point. This, for what it’s worth, is not a complaint. We are darned fortunate that with everything that happened we didn’t take a far more catastrophic financial hit. We are doing okay, amazingly okay. But we definitely didn’t (and don’t) have the discretionary income to throw the several hundred dollars it costs in our area after the shoot that lined up with my vision of perfection. After the set of photos with Arthur’s dad didn’t work out, life got busy with doctor’s appointments and then my brother died. Photos fell off the priority list entirely.

This week, I was in a gently-used children’s store looking for an item and ran across the cutest little Christmas dress in E’s size. It was inexpensive, so I nabbed it and Arthur and I delighted over it when I showed it to him. The familiar refrain in my head started. I have to get a cute picture of E in this dress.

I thought about it a bit more. Yeah, I really do want to get a picture of E in this dress. I don’t have a picture printed out of her to show people when they ask. I don’t have a picture for my locker at work. I really want a decent photo of her – and maybe us with her too.

I knew finding a photographer with availability at all this time of year was going to be a challenge, let alone one within our price range. I did a few internet searches and finally landed on the portrait studio at the local mall. The prices were low, low enough to fit in our very limited budget, and they had plenty of availability. I set the appointment for this coming Monday evening.

The photos won’t be breath-taking. They won’t make Annie Leibovitz sigh in envy. They really won’t be pinterest-worthy (except maybe in a hipster, ironic sort of way).

At the same time, I’ll have pictures of E in that adorable dress. I’ll have a reasonably decent photo of the three of us I can put up on my work locker and send to family. I also know, a couple of years from now, I’ll look at that photo and smile. We’re lucky at this stage we can even get this photo taken for so many reasons.

It’s not perfect. But you know something? Perfection – and pinterest worthiness – are overrated.  Sometimes, things just need finished.

5 thoughts on “The Enemy of Finished

  1. I love this post. I felt horrible that we were too stressed out and sleep deprived and etc etc to get professional newborn photos of S and that our pics were pretty low quality and don’t print well from most of this year…until I realized how silly it was to care about such things when I have a real, live angel in my arms! The photo / video thing can be so stressful….I try to remind myself how few pics my parents took of me by comparison and try to relax about it. Isn’t it funny how different the reality of this time is from what we imagined it would be? I had ideas of perfection too that are totally gone, swept up in the exhausting and amazing everyday.

  2. With all of the photographic misses, I’m glad you’re getting this picture. I think the visual, tangible reminders are so important. They remind you where you’ve been.

  3. I too envisioned the perfect maternity, newborn and first birthday photos. All wrapped up to be Pinterest worthy. And we got to none of them (Beats came early/difficult pregnancy/NICU stay). Oddly enough, it’s the photos we took that I find most valuable. The candid shots we wouldn’t have it we waited for a professional photographer. And those that I wasn’t expecting.

    I hope the photo shoot resulted in some very treasured images.

  4. I can completely understand this post. I am glad that things worked out that you could get pictures that gave you some of what you envisioned, and I bet they are adorable. It’s so hard to make peace with losing some of that fantasy of the maternity shoot/newborn shoot. I had a baby binder that had pages upon pages of maternity shoot ideas. When it became apparent that adoption would be our path to parenthood, I mourned that shoot, hard. I mourned the cute clothes I’d never wear (even if I was pretty sure I’d be a puffy prego with huge ankles, given our series of unfortunate events). We actually just did an adoption photo shoot a week ago, with another photographer who is just starting out and building a client base and portfolio (that’s really the way to go!). I’ll be posting about it in a little while, and it wasn’t what I originally envisioned, but it was perfect in its own way. As I’m sure your photos with little E are as well. I’m glad there were ways to salvage a bit of that hopeful expectation from Before. Happy holidays to you and your family!

Leave a Reply

